Valerie Foley

Sometimes things are so stupid they’re barely worth linking to…

In Action, Environment, Medical, Parent issues, Perceptions, Research, Supplements on March 22, 2013 at 10:12 am

On the same day the CDC grudgingly admitted autism numbers in the USA have hit 1 in 50 (1 in 31 boys), another couple of curiosities emerged.

A study, from Harvard University (no less) linking childhood abuse and autism and a woman’s chance of giving birth to a child who would eventually be diagnosed with autism. There were cursory attempts to link the physiological effects of childhood abuse (stress on the immune system, brain chemicals rhubarb, rhubarb) to the creation of a child vulnerable to autism.

Also, a Swedish study linking young grandfathers and autism. I lost the train that logically connected the young grandfathers and autism, while I medicated my son’s seizures and attempted to soothe him from the whole body attack that is a dog barking in the distance. Though I suspect I lost it, because it’s so effing ridiculous that giving it thought would be insulting to my synapses.

It’s hilarious how we are often accused of spurious concept connections as autism parents (oh, the autism/MMR thing is a complete coincidence of timing… oh, he would have learned to control his anger with maturity and not all those whacky diets and supplements etc etc etc) yet ‘science’ can draw the longest bows known to man, and we’re supposed to go, ‘Oh, of course, that makes total sense because someone with Dr in front of their name said it.’

Nothing to see here. Move on. Smile at the doctor or he’ll say you have Somatic Symptom Disorder.

The timing is suspicious. But there’s a bigger suspicion/question/brain conniption.

There is no compulsion currently on anyone to publish research. It’s a big bone of contention in research internationally. So why publish these studies? And why publicise them on the same day as the CDC admissions (oddly impossible to find on the CDC website)?

Can you say, ‘Oh look, an unusual looking butterfly!’?

Many folk way smarter and better connected than me have spoken about the importance of the international community waking up and smelling the autism flavoured coffee.

My rant for today is about why in heavens name we are persisting in ‘studying’ things we cannot control?

I have absolutely no control over the fact that both my grandfathers were well advanced in age by the time I was born. I also have no control over whether I suffered abuse as a child (OK, I know that’s marginally contentious and if you want to see how insanely dinosaur like some members of the Australian media are about issues like this, click here.)

I have control over… um, wow… just about everything else. What I eat, what I wear, what chemicals I use and consume, where I live, how I sleep, what I put in/on/around my body, and let’s not even start on the choices I make about my child. We have control over those things. We all do.

Why are we not studying them?

Where’s the funding for the ‘how about a year without E numbers?’ study?

Who’s the Bill Gates of NOT filling our bodies full of foreign substances?

We are being fed the information that it is important to feed us.

And we are living with the consequences of not questioning it.

Even my cranky old grandfather would have been able to see that.

Before he died.

Old.

Leave a Reply

